Virtual Classroom Offerings

Introduction

Join kumu Kaliko Beamer-Trapp for an 8-week live online course on a variety of topics in Hawaiian language and culture.

Kaliko will lead you through both easy and difficult lessons in his typical lighthearted and fun-loving fashion, making sure you really enjoy learning in ʻŌlelo Online's "Virtual Classroom".

Current Offerings

Signups are available for the following courses. Generally, classroom size is limited to 18 students, and registrations are taken on a first-come first-served basis. If a class is full or currently in session, a waitlist "ticket" will be available on the Registration Page and Kaliko will be in touch with you as soon as a new Session date is set.

The current Session started on the week of Monday, August 16th 2020 and runs through the week of Monday October 5th (8 weeks)

The next Session will start on the week of Monday, October 19th 2020 and will run through the week of Monday December 7th (8 weeks)

CLASS LISTING

OOVC-CH1 Level I Absolute Beginner Hawaiian
Mondays 12pm HST, 3pm Pacific, 5pm Central, 6pm Eastern
OOVC-CH2A Level II Beginner Speaker Conversational Hawaiian (A)
Mondays 2pm HST, 5pm Pacific, 7pm Central, 8pm Eastern
OOVC-CH2B Level II Beginner Speaker Conversational Hawaiian (B)
Tuesdays 12pm HST, 3pm Pacific, 5pm Central, 6pm Eastern
OOVC-CH3 Level III Continuing Beginner Conversational Hawaiian
Thursdays 2pm HST, 5pm Pacific, 7pm Central, 8pm Eastern
OOVC-CH4 Level IV Elementary Fluency Level Hawaiian
Tuesdays 2pm HST, 5pm Pacific, 7pm Central, 8pm Eastern
OOVC-MH1 Mele Hawaiʻi 1 Basic Hawaiian Through Song Analysis
• Section One: Wednesdays 12pm HST, 3pm Pacific, 5pm Central, 6pm Eastern
Section Two: Wednesdays 2pm HST, 5pm Pacific, 7pm Central, 8pm Eastern
Section Three: Thursdays 5:30pm HST, 8:30pm Pacific

The Approach

Beginner classes in conversational Hawaiian language (CH1 and CH2) are taught through a combination of the grammar-based approach and the communicative approach, and emphasize skills in reading, writing, listening, and speaking at the basic level. Instruction also incorporates lessons about, and discussion of, Hawaiian culture and history.

Fluency-level conversational Hawaiian language classes (CH3 and CH4) are taught increasingly in Hawaiian and rely on discussion of various topics to improve competency.

Mele Hawaiʻi classes (MH1) focus on Hawaiian language as used in Hawaiian mele, or poetic compositions. Song, vocabulary, and grammatical analysis, as well as class discussion, allow for a deeper understanding and appreciation of Hawaiian language and Hawaiian music.

Choose Your Course

Level I: Absolute Beginners

Are you intetested in learning Hawaiian language but don't know how or where to start out? Do you have children or grandchildren with whom you want to speak Hawaiian at home, or who are just starting out in Hawaiian immersion education? Or perhaps you want to learn the basics so you can improve your singing or your understanding of hula. Then choose the Level I Absolute Beginner course. (Current session ends Monday Oct 5th; new session starts Monday October 19th) - Registration Page

Level II: Beginner Speakers

Do you already have the ability to pronounce Hawaiian words and want to learn how to string them together to make useful phrases and sentences? Do you already know some basic Hawaiian language sentence patterns and want to start using them in real life? Or perhaps you have a child already in immersion education and you are trying to keep up with your little genius! Then Level II Beginner Speakers is the class for you! (Current session ends Tues Oct 6th; new session starts Tuesday October 20th) - Registration Page

Level III: Continuing Beginner Speakers

For those of you who can already understand spoken and written Hawaiian when used in simple and familiar contexts, in short sentences, and spoken with slow cadence, then Level III Continuing Beginner Speakers will be your level. Take this class after you have been in Level II (or equivalent) for several sessions. This class focuses on allowing you to understand and produce more fluid and lengthy sentences. (Current session ends Thurs Oct 8th; new session starts Thursday October 22nd) - Registration Page

Level IV: Elementary Fluency

For those students who have taken Level III (or equivalent) several times, it's time to move into the Level IV Elementary Fluency class. This class builds your abilities towards being a fluent reader, writer, and speaker of Hawaiian in increasingly complex contexts. (Current session ends Tues Oct 13th; new session starts Tuesday October 20th) - Registration Page

No Ka Poʻe ʻŌlelo

Inā e hiki maoli iā ʻoe ke ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi i kēia manawa, a e ake ana e hoʻoponopono i nā hemahema maʻamau e lohe ʻia nei ma waena o ko Hawaiʻi Pae ʻĀina; inā paha e ake ana e kūkākūkā no nā pilinaʻōlelo ʻano pohihihi e huikau ai; inā hoʻi paha ʻoe e ʻimi ana i ka "lawenaleo" (ke kiʻinaleo, ka wikileo, ka panaleo, ka nuileo, a me ke ʻanoleo) o nā kūpuna, a laila ʻo ka papa Level 8 Conversational Speakers kou papa e komo ai. (ʻAʻole i hoʻomaka kēia papa; e leka mai ma ka palapala Contact Us inā hoihoi i kēia ʻano papa)

Mele Hawaiʻi: Hawaiian Song Language Analysis

Do you love Hawaiian music and/or hula and wonder what the songs actually mean and how they relate to movement? Do you want to get past simply looking up individual words in a dictionary and then trying to figure out by yourself how they are all working together? This course will help you understand how words are woven together to create meaning in phrases and verses. Kumu Kaliko will guide you, line-by-line, through each of the mele and teach the techniques you can use on your own with any other song. You will learn vocabulary, basic Hawaiian grammar, and delve into the kaona, or layers of meaning, in Hawaiian poetic compositions. To learn more about this course, read the full course description. (Current sessions are ending the week of August 3rd; new sessions start Wednesday August 19th and Thursday August 20th) - Registration Page

How It Works

Each class is one hour in length. Class size is generally limited to 18 students.

No textbook is required for any of the courses; all materials will be provided by the instructor. Kumu Kaliko and his screen will be recorded and the resulting video made available to students following the class along with kumu Kaliko's class notes.

The fee for any 8-week session is $80. This includes the weekly class notes and video recordings, member access to ʻŌlelo Online, as well as access to the ʻŌlelo Online Virtual Classroom Archive Library.

Virtual Classroom courses are held via Zoom and it is recommended that you use a tablet, laptop, or desktop computer with a screen at least 9.7" in size - the larger the better. The Meeting ID and passcode will be provided before the first class starts and will remain the same throughout the session.

Learn More & Registration

We look forward to having you in a future class. You can register for any class on the Registration Page. If you would like to find out a little more about your instructor, Kaliko Beamer-Trapp, please see the About page here on ʻŌlelo Online. Aloha!